Protein without protein powder

Since I last ran out of the Promix Grass-Fed Whey Protein Powder that I mentioned using in My Guide for Choosing a Protein Supplement, I have been trying to get my protein just from whole foods. I have been consciously trying to add meatless protein to my meals, remember I follow a flexitarian diet. There is protein in more than you think.

Now lets remember, though these items may not be healthy for you, this list is not for you to follow per se. I am not lactose intolerant, gluten intolerant nor do I have an allergy to any of these items. Now on to the protein items I consume regularly:

Milk

8-13g of protein per 240 ml serving depending on the brand you buy. I mostly consume organic unsweetened soy milk, but love to treat myself to grass-fed, whole dairy milk. Milk is my favorite beverage and I love to drink it on its own 🙂

Greek yogurt

20-25g of protein per 1 cup serving. I love it plain so that I can add fruit, nuts, cinnamon or cacao powder to it for flavor. I also just love the tartness of plain Greek yogurt.

imag7497

Greek yogurt with a Golden Delicious apple, walnuts and cinnamon

Cheese

6-9 g of protein per 1 oz serving. I stick to a single serving unless I am eating out or treating myself, to keep my fat levels in check for my IBS. However, cheese is definitely one of those foods where while I am eating it, I think to myself, “This is life!”

Eggs

7 g of protein per egg. I like to buy free range eggs from vegetarian-fed chickens and then add egg whites for extra protein. Eggs can be a great way to add protein to your oatmeal too. RXbars use egg whites and nuts to provide you 12g of protein without any supplemental powders added and they taste amazing!

Nuts and nut butters

6-8 g of protein per serving. I love chopping up nuts to add to breads or oatmeals, eating whole, salty or spiced mixed nuts and drizzling nut butter over slices of apple dusted in cinnamon. Most of my go to afternoon snacks involve nuts.

IMAG7714

Apple nachos = 1 apple + cinnamon + nut butter (this is almond butter) + cacao nibs

Legumes

6-9 g of protein per 1/4 cup dry legumes (lentils, chickpeas, beans, etc.). They are so easy to add to meals in place of meat; hummus, chili, sloppy joes, shepherd’s pie, soups, veggie burgers, etc.

IMAG7709

Chana masala over cauliflower rice with a Stokes sweet potato roti

Grains and Seeds

4 – 7 g of protein per 1/4 cup dry grains. Oatmeal, whole wheat, buckwheat, Farro, Quinoa, brown rice, etc., can be a heart healthy way to get in some protein.

Now I know some of this seems carbohydrate heavy, but when you move as much as I do and workout to build muscle you need those carbs! I also eat a lot of organic non-GMO soy products like tofu and tempeh, which pack 12 – 20g per serving, but some folks would argue with me about them being considered a whole food. I try to purchase the brands that have the fewest ingredients, so I believe they are good for me.

Please share how you get in your protein naturally in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

