Fitness When It Becomes Cold/Snowy/Icy Out

When I first moved to the city after graduate school, I just stopped working out regularly. Though I tried to eat things I thought were healthy and not over eat, I gained weight. I really was not moving enough. That was the Winter of 2013/2014 and it was brutal.

It may seem like winter puts a halt on fitness for some, but you can certainly still get a workout in. Heck, you can still run and walk in Winter, even with snow. You just have to invest in the right cold weather gear. I typically ask for fitness and running gear for Christmas. In the past 2 years, I only needed to buy my running shoes and one set of weights because folks were kind enough to purchase some gear for me. I have really appreciated the support and generosity because it has helped me feel great! Here are a few of my favorite outdoor Cold Weather pieces:

  • Under Armour ColdGear tops (preferably the turtle necked ones) and pants
  • Insulated running jacket with hood, mine is from Target and does the job well!
  • Running gloves
  • Hats with a flap for your ponytail
  • Ear band
  • Winter running socks
  • Yaktrax

img_20160207_084932

However, even with all the right gear, I do not always feel up to bundling up for that chilly run/walk outside. Thankfully there is High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT). I have to say it is not my favorite, which is likely why I save it for particularly horrible weather. HIIT burns a lot of calories in a short amount of time and is said to increase the amount of calories you burn at rest. One thing I like about it is that I can combined cardio moves with strength training and complete a full workout in 30 min

Some of my favorite HIIT moves:

  • Burpees
  • Jump Squats
  • Jump Lunges
  • Plank Jacks

Then the strength training moves I am really into right now are glute builders:

  • Weighted Deep Squats
  • Weighted Bridges
  • Deadlifts
  • Ninja Kicks

How have you kept up with fitness during the Winter months?

Leave a Reply

