Fit Travelers Guide – Road Trip/Airport/Station Food

I travel a lot, especially during the past 7 weeks, and it can be challenging to eat right all the time. My moto is eat as much whole, natural foods as possible so you can treat yourself to the not so healthy local fare during your visit. I typically plan out having something to eat during the transportation portion of my travel, but sometimes I need to take advantage of other options.

First Option: Pre-Pack

As I said I typically prepare an extra meal or snack to take in the car or on the train/plane so I can save money and my digestive system from not-worth-it junk food. I like to bring:

  • Leftovers from meals I made during the week
  • Simple sandwich (PB&J, turkey & swiss, etc.)
  • Trail mix (a mix of unsweetened dried fruit and nuts)
  • Nuts
  • Whole 30 approved bars (since they do not contain added sugar)
    • RXbars
    • Larabar
  • Fruit with nut butter
  • Veggies with hummus

When I traveled home to St. Louis, MO to see my family a couple weekends ago, I pre-packed a snack and dinner to eat on the train. I brought a Pumpkin Spice RXbar and a serving of zucchini and sweet potato hash that I had been eating for dinner that week. I also made sure I had enough water to drink on the train. I usually take a train after work so I always end up sleeping toward the end of the few hour journey, but not having to eat the stale looking sandwiches or nuked White Castle sliders is a blessing!

imag6899

Zucchini and Sweet Potato Hash (Caramelized red onions + Sweet potato + Zucchini + Egg + Avocado)

Second Option: Grab on the Go

This is much pricier than just preparing something to bring with you, but it happens sometimes that I do not have enough food to put together something to bring with me or things are just so crazy leading up to my trip that I just lack the time to do so.

You could stop by the grocery store to grab something pre-made if you have time. I live near a Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. They ALWAYS have easy healthy on the go options that are ready to eat. I love the falafel and chicken curry salad from Whole Foods. Trader Joe’s has some great prepared salads with the dressing on the side. Again, sometimes there is just not time for this! So you have to look at the options around your mode of transportation.

I know my airport and its food options pretty well, but I usually need to research the visiting airport I am flying into. For my Tampa trip last month, I found a tuna and veggie box at one of the convenience stores in my airport and then the Tampa airport had a Qdoba. Places like Qdoba are nice because you can put together your own meal to work for you. I like to get a tequila lime chicken salad bowl (lettuce + tequila lime chicken + grilled fajita vegetables + diced jalapeños + pico de gallo + salsa verde – salsa is much more likely to not have added sugars like dressing). Convenience stores can have some decent options among all the junk they also offer and they are getting better about this.

imag6694

In the end, if you have a week where you do not eat the best, do not stress. Focus on eating only until you are full and enjoy every bite! One week will not kill you. Just get back to eating right as soon as possible and keep up your workout routine.

Do you plan out food options when you travel?

Leave a Reply

