Finding What Works – Fitness

IMG_20150517_140229
Vloggers and Bloggers all get hit with tons of hate when they share what works for them. Most of them never intend it to be a statement of what works for everyone, because nothing works for everyone. Everyone is different. Viewers and readers need to look at it more as these folks are merely sharing what they have found that works for them and you can learn for it.

It takes time to figure out what works for you and then you can still discover new things as you learn of new stuff. I have given a lot of options a try and I still am trying new things. That is my method to figuring out what works for me, try new things that fit what I know what I want to get out of it. So I always start off asking myself what I’m looking for for my health and fitness.

When it comes to finding workouts or activities, I know I want something that does not cost more than $20 a month to do 3-4 times per week and to feel great during and after the activity because that is what will keep me doing it. I am not in to fitness to look smoking hot or get ripped or look like someone else. I workout to feel great. A good workout can help me let go of stress, feel awake, be more positive and feel strong.

Walking and running are always free and a great workout. Growing up in a mid-sized city during a time without all the technological gadgets we have now, I walked everywhere to get around. When I left for college that did not change, especially since I was without a car. I walked a total of 6 miles just to go to Target to browse for fun.

College did provide me with something new, a gym. I had never used one nor been inside one before. It was intimidating, at first. I do not think I actually use my campus gym until my Junior year of undergraduate. However, after a few visits, I realized it was not that intimidating. All the equipment had instructions on them on how to properly use them and what muscles they worked.

Now, I live in a bigger city again and gyms can be expensive. Thankfully, there are some affordable options. The park system has neighborhood gyms at about half of the parks throughout the city that you can join for less than $20 for a 3 month membership. There are also discount gyms, like Planet Fitness or LA Fitness. I have participated in a few Meetup events for a discounted fitness class.

However, I am cheap. I have opted to become an outdoor runner and invested in some weights (3, 5 and 8 lbs), a yoga mat, foam roller, jump rope, and exercise ball. Running outside is completely free and I love being outdoors. Being in nature is like therapy for me. Investing in some fitness equipment has also worked well for me since the affordable local park gyms are not open during the time I have to workout before work.

I bought all of my equipment on a discount because I refuse to pay full price on almost everything. Amazon can be a great place to find reduced priced equipment, discount stores such as Marshalls or ROSS carry some quality items and Aldi usually has some equipment in January for cheap, but a place that can go over looked is a local resale shop just for sporting goods. If you live in rural areas you might know of Mennonite or Amish stores, they could carry fitness equipment for much cheaper than your typical retail stores.

I have also invested in some fitness guides and videos. Though I am starting to design my own workouts, these few guides have really help me try out more resistance training that can be done at home. Plus, there are so many personal trainers out there on YouTube and Instagram who give you full samples of their work online. I have found that I really just need to try their free stuff and if I enjoyed how they motivate me and their workouts then it is worth the investment of their guide. So far, that has worked out well for me.

You really just need to stop and ask yourself, “What am I looking for?” before spending your money or wasting your time. That simple question has saved me from buying ALL THE THINGS, when I ended up only truly enjoying one of the things. Share below what workouts you have found that work for you. There are opportunities out there, you just need to learn where you can look for them.

 

One thought on “Finding What Works – Fitness

  1. Mark HUdson says:

    Yep, try it, if it works , keep it up, if it doesn’t try something else. You never know till you try, and not trying is the biggest waste of time, and once it’s gone, it’s GONE.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

